NOT PC (Politically Correct)

I wish I spoke another language.  I regret somehow circumventing the system in High School and graduating without so much as one ‘language 101’ course.  I think that it would be beneficial to Spanish or German or Slovak or Mandarin or something in addition to English.

BUT, I don’t think it should be mandatory for companies, governments, schools, churches and organizations to cater to the minority by requiring them to print information in another language or have employees speak multiple languages.  This is the United States of America.  The language we speak is English.  If you decide to move here, learn the language!!!

Do you think for one second you would be welcome in France, for example, if you moved there and refused to learn their language?  Heck no!  Not only would you handicapped socially but you would likely be rejected and even bullied for refusing to learn the language of the land.

I do NOT advocate bullying.  That is NEVER the answer.  What I’m saying is if you chose to move to a country be willing to assimilate.  Learn the culture and the language.  Be able to interact.

When my grandparents moved to this country they did not hold on to their old language and expect others to bend to their will.  They INSISTED on learning the language and speaking it as flawlessly as possible so as to integrate and flourish in this “new” land.  They still spoke their birth language at home but in public they WANTED to be American so they spoke English.

I’m not saying that one has to reject their culture of origin or their language.  On the contrary, I wish my grandparents had passed on the knowledge of their original language to their children and grandchildren. I am saying that in order to fully embrace your new life in a new country, however, you have to learn to speak the language.

I know American English is not easy to learn that’s why I LOVE meeting someone who is giving it their all to learn the dialect, proper punctuation and grammar.  I admire those who try but am truly frustrated with those who refuse to try.  It’s like trying to teach someone how to use a computer but they insist on sticking with a typewriter.

Go ahead, blast me. I know this is not a PC way of thinking but I have never really considered myself Politically Correct anyway.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment