Lighten up & have a drink!

First, I’m going to say this is NOT something I ascribe to for those with substance abuse issues.  Second, stop judging.

I was raised in a religious denomination that is very liberal when it comes to alcohol consumption.  In fact, on certain holidays, our church would hold parties with a cash bar for adults to raise money for projects.

When I started to interact with other Christian denominations, I found it absurd that a beer or glass of wine was on the “do not do” list.  I understand that one should not get intoxicated.  That seems pretty clear in the Bible but even Jesus drank wine.  And, yes, I know why they drank wine in their time and part of the world…even though some denominations insist it was grape juice.

I think the entire American Christian community would be a whole lot better off if they just relaxed and had a drink from time to time.  We get so serious about the stupidest little things that I’m guessing don’t matter much to God: like having a beer, for example!  In my opinion, I bet Christ thought we’d have our hands full with just trying to Love God and Love one another.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Uncategorized

One response to “Lighten up & have a drink!

Leave a comment